Fruit of our Labor

 BabyFruit Ticker

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Breastfeeding a Baby; The New Chapter

Our beautiful Lillian is now 9 days old, and she seems to be doing well. We are trying to breastfeed this time around and she is a little trooper. Every two and a half hours practically like clockwork. I had forgotten how sore it can make you in the first few days though, as obviously you can lose a layer or two of skin while they are nursing, and as you're trying to get positioning correct and all that fun stuff.

I know she is eating well though, as it seems that every diaper we change is a mess! And we change her a LOT. She's gone through two packs of newborn diapers nearly, in only 9 days!! :P

Today I've decided that I am going to pump at least once a day though, if only to increase supply, and give Justin a chance to feed her as well. It might not be a bad idea to have a bottle ready to go for car rides, just in case we can't get somewhere and stop for 45 minutes to an hour so I can feed her properly. I'm not planning on doing this often though, but it never hurts to be prepared.

Lily has incredible hiccups! Madeline was holding her, and looked at her pointedly and asked, "Lily, are you a Squeak Toy??"

It was adorable.

In other news:

Baron the Dachshund is a bit jealous, but he seems to like the baby and is most inclined to sniff at her when she is in her moses basket. I keep an eye on this interaction, but I really think it is healthy for both of them. This way the dog gets used to the baby and I can be sure that he won't nip or jump in to the basket with her. The cats could care less about her, although I think Evie may have had a pee on the rug when we brought the baby home, just to show that she thinks we already had enough pets and we could take this new one back to the store for all she cared.

Tonight Justin and Jeremy are going to a huge Soccer game here in Utah. This will be my first time alone with both of our girls. I don't foresee any issues, and I figure we can sit and play games until Madeline goes to bed. She's been promised ice cream though, so we will have to do that as soon as she is out of school. She did very well at her soccer game yesterday, and we've promised her an ice cream every time she gets a goal.

Well there's our update. Hope things are well with everyone!

Monday, April 25, 2011

Monday, April 18, 2011

This Is It.

It's 9:02 am. At 10:30 or so we are leaving for the hospital. The c-section is scheduled for 1pm, but we need to be there a bit early so they can get the IV going and all that sort of thing.

I'm not too sure how I feel. Most of me wants to cry, and sit in a corner, but I think that is just the hormones contending with the concept of major surgery, even if it is routine.

Don't get me wrong, I am absolutely delighted that we get to meet our baby today. Really I am, I think I'm in "pre-shock". If that's not a real term then it should be. It's that kind of semi-numb feeling that you get when you have complete knowledge of all of the proverbial crap that is about to hit the fan and FAST.

Having a baby is a wonderful experience. There are very few things that even come close to this day on an emotional and spiritual level. There are also few things better primed to remind you about your own mortality than surgery, and you can tell yourself that even though you have been through it before it's ok to be a little scared or apprehensive. Because it IS.

Baby, I can't wait to meet you. You have beat my insides black and blue, reminded me how much I dislike hiccups, given me a new respect for people who have acid reflux and have to live with it on a daily basis. You have already taught me that balancing two children is going to be an interesting experience, and that Madeline is going to love you to pieces.

Today is rainy and overcast. It's not the type of day that most people hope for when giving a being new life, but I welcome it. It is spring, and rain has always symbolized life and growth and rebirth to me. Blame Grandpa R for that one, his green thumb has been passed down and so has his outlook on nature. I hope you inherit this trait. Here's hoping that you bypass the hereditary seasonal allergies that are plaguing us at the moment. My throat is raw and my sinuses are sniffly. But the flowers have bloomed to herald your arrival.

You've just given me a bit of a wiggle, so you have to be waking up for the day. Boy do you ever have a rude shock awaiting you. Sorry about that. It's cold out here. We have clothes for you. It's rainy, but you will have a roof over your head. There are many arms waiting to wrap you up and snuggle you warm. There's not much I can offer you at this point. You and I are about to go through a miniature hell. But we will manage. One way or another, life gets on. And the best part about being human is that we can forget the pain, the cold and the unsettledness with little hardship. If women remembered how much it sucks to throw up for three months when they are pregnant, they most likely wouldn't have babies any more, and then where would we be?

Love you. I managed to write that above bit with only one tear. Someone up there give me strength to make it through today without bawling like a baby. You'll be doing enough of that for both of us as it is.

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Today's Baby and Bump Forum Post

I'm having a scan in two hours to see where baby is positioned, and I am so excited that I can not contain myself. If it wasn't for the fact that I have to fast for the 8 hours before, I'd really be having a great time of it! So I've been keeping myself busy by cleaning and having hubby take a picture of me and my bump at 37 weeks.

But first, here's 27 weeks as a comparison:



Then 37 weeks. Sheesh can you tell I'm tired?



I'll update this thread with pictures from the scan today once we get home! YAY

Edit:

So we got our ultrasound, but our little one was not really co-operating much. She is head down, and her back is towards my belly button, which they tell me is a good thing, not that it matters since she will be born via c-section on the 18th anyway. The machine said she will be 7lbs +. We didn't get any actual pictures because she was facing away from the sonographer and was NOT willing to turn for her under any circumstances. But we did get a split second shot in the video she gave us that lets us see her cute little chin, perfect little cherub lips and pudgy little cheek. If you look closely you can even see nostrils. She is laying on her side in this picture, and the top of her head is to the right, although you can not see it.

This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is sized 910x508.


We are SO excited.

Saturday, April 2, 2011

Where'd the Go Go Juice Go?


We slept in till 9. Got up, did a bit of yard work, grabbed lunch and got groceries. We got home, unloaded the truck, put away the groceries.

I am now EXHAUSTED. Where'd all my fine nesting energy go? Out the window, that's where. And I'm fine with it, since it is Saturday, but I need a LITTLE bit more of that awesome go-go juice. I still need to finish the basement cleaning up!

________________________________________

Doctor's appt yesterday 10 am: Dilated to a 1, but not expected to progress any time soon. Scheduled the next appointment for next Wed, will have another ultrasound at that time to determine baby's position (And just so I can get more pictures!) Daddy and big sis get to go too.

Everyone tell her she needs to stay in there at least till then. We'll update with those pics when we have them. :)